The importance of being mentored

willsomebodypleasethinkoftheteachers

Getting into teaching is tough. Getting a place on a course is a nightmare, the training year terrifying and being an NQT a baptism of fire. There is one thing that can get you through it all – a good mentor.

For a start I found it hard to even get on a course, university PGCE and GTP programmes (as they were once called) turned their noses up at me. I had spent a few weeks doing work experience in a school, obviously I would have liked to have been able to have more prior experience but at the time I had a one year old baby and would not have been able to survive on the wages of an LSA (which by the way are criminal) and pay for childcare. I was puzzled at the time as I was led to believe that there was a shortage of teachers…

View original post 941 more words

Leave a Reply

