So, I’m young, who cares?

Over the past year in my training, I have been endlessly reminded of the fact that I’m young. As if I’m going to forget that in a hurry.

People separate from my training programme have also sucked in their breath and said “You’re brave, you’re so young!’ When I have told them about my career choice.

But actually, I think, what does it matter? Yes I’m 22, yes I only finished University last May, but does that mean I’m any worse off for it?

I don’t think so.

Don’t get me wrong, I have doubted myself over the past year, especially when faced with older kids, older members of staff, and of course the parents. But actually, I’ve not had any single person challenge me on my age, nor has anyone looked shocked or puzzled when they have sat down opposite me at parents’ evening.

So actually, I see it as a blessing that I’ve been able to enter the teaching profession at such a young age. I’m used to learning, I’m used to the classroom environment, and I can relate to the students. Plus, I’m receiving the same training and input as everyone else, so why should my age even be mentioned as an issue?

I am also of the belief, that – no matter what age you are – if your head and heart are in the right place and you’re passionate about something, you will succeed in it, and that’s all I’m trying to do – succeed.

One thing I’ve realised over the past year, is that I am incredibly passionate about teaching. In fact, I don’t shut up about it. I am in a school that I love, working with kids who I really care about, and a body of staff who care about me – and that, I believe – is what can lead to a successful career.

So yes, maybe I am ‘brave’ choosing to go back into school and be challenged by a bunch of grumpy, hormone ridden teenagers on a daily basis, but I’m no braver than anyone else just because I’m a “baby” (as I was reminded at graduation last week!)

Teaching is like any job, it is what you make of it. And if you’re 21 or 55, young, old, male or female, it doesn’t matter. If you care, and you are supported, you have got a fantastic opportunity that lies ahead of you and I, for one, am incredibly excited about that.

One thought on “So, I’m young, who cares?

  1. Absolutely agree! We were all there once – I started teaching at 22 too. And thirty years later, still teaching at aged 52, I was still learning.

    Funny how it’s acceptable to say, “You’re so young!” but not “You’re so old!”

    Great to hear you’re so passionate about your job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

